Wyoming motorcycle helmet Laws
All riders and passengers who are under the age of 18 years have to wear approved helmets while riding a motorcycle in Wyoming. The helmet should meet or exceed the standards of the American National Standards Institute.
As per Wyoming state motorcycle helmet usage laws, all motorcycle operators and passengers who are 17 years old and younger need to wear approved helmets. The helmet should be securely fastened on the head of the rider. It should meet or exceed the standards of the American National Standards Institute.
The 2015 State of Wyoming Motorcycle License Manual advises riders to wear a shatter-resistant, plastic face shield or goggles, particularly if the motorcycle does not have a windshield. Plus, the manual states that the helmet should fit comfortably and not have any obvious defects like frayed straps, loose padding, and cracks.
Wyoming motorcycle helmet laws were repealed in 1983. Unless you’re under the age of 18 and driving or riding a motorcycle in Wyoming, state law mandates you to wear a helmet. If you are over the age of 18, you are not legally obligated to wear a helmet. The helmet should be properly placed on your head under all circumstances and should meet the Department of Transportation’s regulations (DOT).
Wyoming motorcycle helmet laws are subject to change as state helmet laws across the USA are periodically revised. Click here to check for any changes to Wyoming motorcycle helmet laws, as this is the best Wyoming state government source for motorcycle helmet laws and regulations we know of.
If you know of a better online government resource for Wyoming motorcycle helmet law information, please use the “Contact Us” link at the top of the page and we’ll be happy to include your resource.
Wyoming motorcycle helmet law EXEMPTIONS
Fact: Approximately 60% of US states offer exemptions to motorcycle helmet laws that allow a rider to decline to wear a motorcycle helmet while operating or riding as a passenger on a motorcycle. Common exemptions are allowed for the age of the rider, the experience of the rider, if the rider has proof of adequate health insurance, or if the rider has taken a certified motorcycle driving safety course.
EXEMPTIONS For Age
18 or Above
EXEMPTIONS for experience