Wisconsin motorcycle helmet Laws
The Wisconsin state motorcycle helmet usage law requires all riders who are under the age of 18 years or have a motorcycle instruction permit to wear approved helmets while riding.
As per Wisconsin state motorcycle helmet laws, helmets are required for all motorcycle and moped operators and passengers if they are under the age of 18 years. Moreover, helmets are required for all riders who have motorcycle instruction permits. According to the Wisconsin Motorcyclists’ Handbook, the helmet should meet the minimum standards set by the U.S. DOT (Department of Transportation).
An approved helmet reduces head and neck injuries. It should be properly fastened with its chin straps. Apart from helmets, riders also need to wear face and eye protection gear, such as a face shield, goggles, or glasses if their bike does not have an approved windshield.
Wisconsin motorcycle helmet laws were repealed in 1978. Per Wisconsin law, all motorcycle riders underneath the age of 18 or those with an instructional permit must wear a helmet with such a securely attached chin strap. Passengers under the age of 18 must also wear a helmet.
Unless such a motorcycle is fitted with a windshield which extends to a minimum of 15 inches well above handlebars, all motorcycle operators, irrespective of age, should wear a protected face shield, glasses, or goggles. Participants in a procession sanctioned by a local government are exempt from the restrictions.
Wisconsin motorcycle helmet laws are subject to change as state helmet laws across the USA are periodically revised. Click here to check for any changes to Wisconsin motorcycle helmet laws, as this is the best Wisconsin state government source for motorcycle helmet laws and regulations we know of.
If you know of a better online government resource for Wisconsin motorcycle helmet law information, please use the “Contact Us” link at the top of the page and we’ll be happy to include your resource.
Wisconsin motorcycle helmet law EXEMPTIONS
Fact: Approximately 60% of US states offer exemptions to motorcycle helmet laws that allow a rider to decline to wear a motorcycle helmet while operating or riding as a passenger on a motorcycle. Common exemptions are allowed for the age of the rider, the experience of the rider, if the rider has proof of adequate health insurance, or if the rider has taken a certified motorcycle driving safety course.
EXEMPTIONS For Age
18 or Above
EXEMPTIONS for experience