Utah motorcycle helmet Laws
The Utah motorcycle helmet law states that all riders and passengers who are under the age of 21 years must wear a helmet. The helmet needs to comply with the DOT standards.
As per Utah state motorcycle helmet usage laws, all riders and passengers under the age of 21 years need to wear a protective helmet while riding a motorcycle or motor-driven cycle. The headgear needs to comply with the standards laid out by the United States DOT (Department of Transportation).
This law exempts people who are riding a motorcycle with an enclosed cab. While motorcyclists are not required to wear eye protection gear in Utah, it is recommended that they do for riding enjoyment and safety. Statistics show that helmets are 37% effective in preventing bike fatalities and 67% effective in averting brain injuries.
Utah motorcycle helmet laws were repealed in 1977. If you are 20 years old or younger and want to ride a motorbike in Utah, you must wear head protection that meets Utah law’s requirements. Violations of motorcycle helmet legislation by anyone under the age of 20 are deemed violations.
Riders under the age of 18 must wear a helmet which meets the US Department of Transportation’s safety standards (DOT). This law does not apply to closed-cab motorcycles. Since these laws were prone to revision, persons who are required to wear a helmet when riding a motorbike in Utah must verify with the Commissioner before doing so.
Utah motorcycle helmet laws are subject to change as state helmet laws across the USA are periodically revised. Click here to check for any changes to Utah motorcycle helmet laws, as this is the best Utah state government source for motorcycle helmet laws and regulations we know of.
If you know of a better online government resource for Utah motorcycle helmet law information, please use the “Contact Us” link at the top of the page and we’ll be happy to include your resource.
Utah motorcycle helmet law EXEMPTIONS
Fact: Approximately 60% of US states offer exemptions to motorcycle helmet laws that allow a rider to decline to wear a motorcycle helmet while operating or riding as a passenger on a motorcycle. Common exemptions are allowed for the age of the rider, the experience of the rider, if the rider has proof of adequate health insurance, or if the rider has taken a certified motorcycle driving safety course.
EXEMPTIONS For Age
21 or Above
EXEMPTIONS for experience