Texas motorcycle helmet Laws
As per the Texas motorcycle helmet usage law, all riders need to wear a helmet if they are under the age of 21 years, have no medical insurance, or have not finished a safety course.
As per Texas state motorcycle helmet laws, all riders under the age of 21 years need to wear a helmet. If the rider is above this age limit, he/she can ride without a helmet; however, they need to provide proof of health insurance or complete a motorcycle safety course.
The helmet needs to be fitted snugly and securely while riding. It should also be free of defects like exposed metal, frayed straps, loose padding, and cracks. It is advised for riders to wear protective gear and turn on their headlights while riding. Riders should ride defensively and avoid the lane’s center where oil and debris build up.
Texas motorcycle helmet laws were enacted in 1977. In principle, Texas mandates all motorcyclists and passengers to wear a helmet that fulfils the state’s Department of Public Safety’s safety standards.
Those aged 21 and over who have successfully completed an authorized motorcycle operator training and safety course or who are insured by a health insurance plan that provides at least $10,000 in medical benefits for injuries sustained whereas operating the motorcycle could ride without a helmet.
Before venturing to the open road on a motorbike, check with the Department of Public Safety to learn about current helmet safety regulations if you are subject to the required helmet rule.
Texas motorcycle helmet laws are subject to change as state helmet laws across the USA are periodically revised. Click here to check for any changes to Texas motorcycle helmet laws, as this is the best Texas state government source for motorcycle helmet laws and regulations we know of.
If you know of a better online government resource for Texas motorcycle helmet law information, please use the “Contact Us” link at the top of the page and we’ll be happy to include your resource.
Texas motorcycle helmet law EXEMPTIONS
Fact: Approximately 60% of US states offer exemptions to motorcycle helmet laws that allow a rider to decline to wear a motorcycle helmet while operating or riding as a passenger on a motorcycle. Common exemptions are allowed for the age of the rider, the experience of the rider, if the rider has proof of adequate health insurance, or if the rider has taken a certified motorcycle driving safety course.
EXEMPTIONS For Age
21 or Above
EXEMPTIONS for experience