South Dakota motorcycle helmet Laws
As per the South Dakota motorcycle helmet usage law, all operators and passengers who are under 18 years have to wear an approved protective helmet.
As per South Dakota state motorcycle helmet laws, it is unlawful for any person under the age of 18 years to operate or ride a motorcycle without wearing an approved safety helmet. Eye protection devices need to be worn by all riders of all motorcycles, which also include mopeds. The eye protection gear includes windshields, plastic or safety glass face shields, goggles, glasses, etc.
The helmet needs to comply with the U.S. DOT (Department of Transportation) and the eye protection devices need to meet the minimum required standards set by the Department of Public Safety of South Dakota. Research shows that riders who wear helmets have less severe and fewer head injuries in accidents.
South Dakota motorcycle helmet laws were repealed in 1977. Only motorcyclists and passengers under the age of 18 are supposed to wear a motorcycle helmet in South Dakota. Anybody under the age of 18 who rides a motorcycle without such a suitable helmet is breaking the law, and a motorcycle operator could be held accountable if his or her passenger is below the age of 18.
In South Dakota, breaking the state’s helmet legislation is categorised as a “Class 2 misdemeanour,” which means that perhaps the act is subject by up to thirty days in a jail cell or a $500 fine, or even both.
South Dakota motorcycle helmet laws are subject to change as state helmet laws across the USA are periodically revised. Click here to check for any changes to South Dakota motorcycle helmet laws, as this is the best South Dakota state government source for motorcycle helmet laws and regulations we know of.
If you know of a better online government resource for South Dakota motorcycle helmet law information, please use the “Contact Us” link at the top of the page and we’ll be happy to include your resource.
South Dakota motorcycle helmet law EXEMPTIONS
Fact: Approximately 60% of US states offer exemptions to motorcycle helmet laws that allow a rider to decline to wear a motorcycle helmet while operating or riding as a passenger on a motorcycle. Common exemptions are allowed for the age of the rider, the experience of the rider, if the rider has proof of adequate health insurance, or if the rider has taken a certified motorcycle driving safety course.
EXEMPTIONS For Age
18 or Above
EXEMPTIONS for experience