South Carolina motorcycle helmet Laws
All riders and passengers on mopeds and motorcycles in South Carolina need to wear safety helmets if they are under the age of 21. The helmets should be approved by the Department of Public Safety.
As per South Carolina state motorcycle helmet laws, all riders and passengers under the age of 21 years have to wear protective helmets while riding on motorcycles or mopeds. The safety helmets need to be fitted with reflectors on both sides.
Also, all riders have to wear eye protection gear, like goggles, if they are under the age of 21 years or unless their bike is fitted with a windscreen. The protective helmet should be approved by the Department of Public Safety. Moreover, it should be equipped with either a chin or neck strap. The universal helmet law was repealed in 1980 in the state.
South Carolina motorcycle helmet laws were repealed in 1980. There is no universal helmet law in South Carolina. To put it another way, not all motorcyclists and passengers were forced to wear helmets. Only individuals under the age of 21 are required to wear a helmet whenever riding a motorcycle in the Palmetto State.
This law is applicable to both riders and passengers on motorcycles. Even while it is not required by law for all riders and passengers to wear helmets, it is critical that everybody else do so before riding the bike.
South Carolina motorcycle helmet laws are subject to change as state helmet laws across the USA are periodically revised. Click here to check for any changes to South Carolina motorcycle helmet laws, as this is the best South Carolina state government source for motorcycle helmet laws and regulations we know of.
If you know of a better online government resource for South Carolina motorcycle helmet law information, please use the “Contact Us” link at the top of the page and we’ll be happy to include your resource.
South Carolina motorcycle helmet law EXEMPTIONS
Fact: Approximately 60% of US states offer exemptions to motorcycle helmet laws that allow a rider to decline to wear a motorcycle helmet while operating or riding as a passenger on a motorcycle. Common exemptions are allowed for the age of the rider, the experience of the rider, if the rider has proof of adequate health insurance, or if the rider has taken a certified motorcycle driving safety course.
EXEMPTIONS For Age
21 or Above
EXEMPTIONS for experience