Rhode Island motorcycle helmet Laws
The Rhode Island motorcycle helmet use law requires all riders under the age of 21 years to wear helmets. Additionally, helmets are required by all passengers.
Rhode Island does not have a universal motorcycle helmet law. As per the Rhode Island state motorcycle helmet law, riders who are under the age of 21 years or who have been licensed for less than a year need to wear a helmet. Also, all passengers have to wear helmets, regardless of their age. All motorcycle operators must also wear eye protection while riding.
Plus, the helmets and eye protection must be approved by the Administrator of the Division of Motor Vehicles of Rhode Island. The preliminary data for Rhode Island (2019) states that 30% of bike fatalities, which is four out of 13 fatalities, were not wearing helmets.
Rhode Island motorcycle helmet laws were repealed in 1976. A universal motorcycle helmet law does not exist in Rhode Island. There are laws in place to protect young motorcycle riders. Helmets are required to be worn by people under the age of 21 when riding a motorcycle in the state.
Adult motorcyclists, on the other hand, are not required by law to wear a helmet. All motorcycle operators, irrespective of age, are required by law to wear helmets for the first year after receiving their motorbike licence. It’s worth noting that Massachusetts does have a universal helmet law that makes wearing a helmet mandatory for all riders.
Rhode Island motorcycle helmet laws are subject to change as state helmet laws across the USA are periodically revised. Click here to check for any changes to Rhode Island motorcycle helmet laws, as this is the best Rhode Island state government source for motorcycle helmet laws and regulations we know of.
If you know of a better online government resource for Rhode Island motorcycle helmet law information, please use the “Contact Us” link at the top of the page and we’ll be happy to include your resource.
Rhode Island motorcycle helmet law EXEMPTIONS
Fact: Approximately 60% of US states offer exemptions to motorcycle helmet laws that allow a rider to decline to wear a motorcycle helmet while operating or riding as a passenger on a motorcycle. Common exemptions are allowed for the age of the rider, the experience of the rider, if the rider has proof of adequate health insurance, or if the rider has taken a certified motorcycle driving safety course.