Pennsylvania motorcycle helmet Laws
As per Pennsylvania motorcycle helmet use laws, all riders who are under 21 years or have a license for less than 2 years must wear a helmet. It is not compulsory for riders, who have completed a safety course approved by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation or PennDOT, to wear helmets.
The Pennsylvania motorcycle helmet law requires all operators and passengers below 21 years on a motorcycle or autocycle to wear protective helmets. It is not necessary for riders, who are 21 years old or above, have been licensed to ride a bike for a minimum of two years, or have finished a motorcycle safety course that is approved by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation or PennDOT, to wear a helmet.
Plus, operators and passengers on three-wheeled motorcycles or autocycles that have an enclosed can are not required to wear a helmet. The law also states that the motorcycle helmet must meet the U.S. Department of Transportation standards.
Pennsylvania motorcycle helmet laws were repealed in 2003. Riders who are over 21 years old and have finished the state’s motorcycle safety course or even have two years of experience of driving were exempt from wearing helmets by Pennsylvania’s helmet statute (75 Pa. C.S.A. Section 3525).
According to Pennsylvania law, no one can drive or ride a motorbike without wearing approved protective eyewear from the department of motor vehicles. Having said that, while helmets are still not required for all riders, the chance of being involved in a motorcycle accident would be the same for everybody.
Pennsylvania motorcycle helmet laws are subject to change as state helmet laws across the USA are periodically revised. Click here to check for any changes to Pennsylvania motorcycle helmet laws, as this is the best Pennsylvania state government source for motorcycle helmet laws and regulations we know of.
If you know of a better online government resource for Pennsylvania motorcycle helmet law information, please use the “Contact Us” link at the top of the page and we’ll be happy to include your resource.
Pennsylvania motorcycle helmet law EXEMPTIONS
Fact: Approximately 60% of US states offer exemptions to motorcycle helmet laws that allow a rider to decline to wear a motorcycle helmet while operating or riding as a passenger on a motorcycle. Common exemptions are allowed for the age of the rider, the experience of the rider, if the rider has proof of adequate health insurance, or if the rider has taken a certified motorcycle driving safety course.
EXEMPTIONS For Age
21 or Above
EXEMPTIONS for experience