Ohio motorcycle helmet Laws 


Ohio is a state where not every person needs to wear a helmet. However, they need to wear one if the motorcyclist is under the age of 18 years or a novice rider. 

As per Ohio motorcycle helmet use laws, all motorcycle riders who are under the age of 18 years or are new need to wear helmets. The ‘new’ or ‘novice’ riders are individuals who are above the age of 18 years and have been licensed for less than one year in Ohio or any other jurisdiction or state recognized by Ohio law. 

Moreover, all passengers need to wear helmets when the operator is below 18 years or holds a novice license, irrespective of the passenger’s age. Additionally, all riders and passengers need to wear safety glasses or other protective gear while in motion.

Ohio motorcycle helmet laws were repealed in 1978. A motorcyclist in Ohio is only required to wear a helmet if he or she is below the age of 18 or is in the first year of receiving a motorcycle licence (novice) or is driving with a temporary permission.

Every passenger should wear a helmet if the motorcycle’s driver is obliged to do so. In Ohio, unless the bike has a windscreen, eye protection is needed. Both the helmet and the safety glasses/eye protector must fulfil Ohio’s Director of Public Safety’s minimal criteria.

Ohio motorcycle helmet laws are subject to change as state helmet laws across the USA are periodically revised. Click here to check for any changes to Ohio motorcycle helmet laws, as this is the best Ohio state government source for motorcycle helmet laws and regulations we know of. 

If you know of a better online government resource for Ohio motorcycle helmet law information, please use the “Contact Us” link at the top of the page and we’ll be happy to include your resource.     

Ohio motorcycle helmet law EXEMPTIONS

Fact: Approximately 60% of US states offer exemptions to motorcycle helmet laws that allow a rider to decline to wear a motorcycle helmet while operating or riding as a passenger on a motorcycle. Common exemptions are allowed for the age of the rider, the experience of the rider, if the rider has proof of adequate health insurance, or if the rider has taken a certified motorcycle driving safety course. 


18 or Above

EXEMPTIONS for experience


EXEMPTIONS for taking a safety course


learn more