North Dakota motorcycle helmet Laws
It is compulsory for riders and passengers to wear a helmet in North Dakota if they are under 18 years. The helmet should be approved by the DOT.
As per the North Dakota State motorcycle helmet usage law, any person who is riding a bike or is a passenger has to wear a safety helmet if they are under the age of 18 years. The passenger also needs to wear a safety helmet if the motorcycle operator is below 18 years, regardless of the age of the passenger.
The safety helmet needs to conform to the standards set by the US Department of Transportation. The only exception for this law is when the rider is participating in a lawful parade or riding in a golf cart or enclosed cab.
North Dakota motorcycle helmet laws were repealed in 1977. Except when participating inside a permitted procession, no person under the age of eighteen may drive or ride a motorbike unless protective equipment that meets departmental requirements is worn on the operators and rider’s heads.
If the operator of a motorbike is expected to wear protective headgear, any passenger, irrespective of age, must also wear head protection. However, wearing a helmet at all times when you are either a driver or a passenger is strongly recommended.
North Dakota motorcycle helmet laws are subject to change as state helmet laws across the USA are periodically revised. Click here to check for any changes to North Dakota motorcycle helmet laws, as this is the best North Dakota state government source for motorcycle helmet laws and regulations we know of.
If you know of a better online government resource for North Dakota motorcycle helmet law information, please use the “Contact Us” link at the top of the page and we’ll be happy to include your resource.
North Dakota motorcycle helmet law EXEMPTIONS
Fact: Approximately 60% of US states offer exemptions to motorcycle helmet laws that allow a rider to decline to wear a motorcycle helmet while operating or riding as a passenger on a motorcycle. Common exemptions are allowed for the age of the rider, the experience of the rider, if the rider has proof of adequate health insurance, or if the rider has taken a certified motorcycle driving safety course.
EXEMPTIONS For Age
18 or Above
EXEMPTIONS for experience