New York motorcycle helmet Laws
Under the motorcycle helmet usage law of New York, all riders and passengers need to wear a helmet, irrespective of their experience level and age.
As per New York motorcycle helmet use laws, it is against the law to ride or operate a motorcycle without a helmet. The helmet needs to comply with federal motor vehicle safety standards. This means the helmet should have a US DOT sticker. A proper motorcycle helmet minimizes concussions and other head injuries and saves lives.
And, head injuries are one of the main causes of death in bike crashes. Additionally, the rider needs to wear eye protection gear. This law does not include people riding in public exhibitions, like a parade. It also does not include class C limited use motorcycles, which have speeds of up to 20 mph.
New York motorcycle helmet laws were enacted in 1967. “It shall be prohibited for any individual to drive or ride a motorcycle without using a safety helmet of such a type that satisfies the criteria set forth in section 571.218 of the federal motor vehicle safety standards,” according to New York state law.
A fine of up to $100, 30 days in jail, or both is the penalty for breaking New York’s helmet statute. Motorcycle riders are indeed obliged to wear goggles or a face shield of such a kind recognised by the Commission of Motor Vehicles, in order to wear an authorized helmet for all drivers and passengers. Section 381 of the New York Vehicle and Traffic Law (7).
New York motorcycle helmet laws are subject to change as state helmet laws across the USA are periodically revised. Click here to check for any changes to New York motorcycle helmet laws, as this is the best New York state government source for motorcycle helmet laws and regulations we know of.
If you know of a better online government resource for New York motorcycle helmet law information, please use the “Contact Us” link at the top of the page and we’ll be happy to include your resource.
New York motorcycle helmet law EXEMPTIONS
Fact: Approximately 60% of US states offer exemptions to motorcycle helmet laws that allow a rider to decline to wear a motorcycle helmet while operating or riding as a passenger on a motorcycle. Common exemptions are allowed for the age of the rider, the experience of the rider, if the rider has proof of adequate health insurance, or if the rider has taken a certified motorcycle driving safety course.