Montana motorcycle helmet Laws
Motorcycle riders in Montana have to wear a helmet, particularly if they are under the age of 18 years. The helmet should meet the State Department of Justice’s standards and requirements.
As per Montana motorcycle helmet usage laws, motorcycle operators and passengers must wear a helmet if they are under the age of 18 years. Passengers below 18 years old must wear a helmet, irrespective of the experience or age of the motorcycle driver. Plus, a restricted licensed driver cannot ride with a passenger below 18 years during the initial six months.
The requirements of the helmet are set by the state’s Department of Transportation (DOT) and the Department of Justice. This law does not apply to people 18 years old and above. If riders are caught in violation of this law, they could receive a traffic citation.
Montana motorcycle helmet laws were repealed in 1977. A worldwide law requiring all motorcyclists to wear a helmet does not exist in Montana. However, depending on their age, the law simply mandates some riders and passengers to wear helmets.
All motorcycle (and quadricycle) operators and passengers under the age of 18 must wear protective headgear, according to Montana Code Annotated Section 61-9-417. According to the US Department of Justice, headgear must meet federal safety and performance criteria. Motorcyclists are not permitted to ride in the state unless underage passengers abide by the law.
Montana motorcycle helmet laws are subject to change as state helmet laws across the USA are periodically revised. Click here to check for any changes to Montana motorcycle helmet laws, as this is the best Montana state government source for motorcycle helmet laws and regulations we know of.
If you know of a better online government resource for Montana motorcycle helmet law information, please use the “Contact Us” link at the top of the page and we’ll be happy to include your resource.
Montana motorcycle helmet law EXEMPTIONS
Fact: Approximately 60% of US states offer exemptions to motorcycle helmet laws that allow a rider to decline to wear a motorcycle helmet while operating or riding as a passenger on a motorcycle. Common exemptions are allowed for the age of the rider, the experience of the rider, if the rider has proof of adequate health insurance, or if the rider has taken a certified motorcycle driving safety course.
EXEMPTIONS For Age
18 or Above
EXEMPTIONS for experience