Minnesota motorcycle helmet Laws
All riders in Minnesota are required to wear protection for the face and eyes. A windshield is not counted as eye protection. Motorcyclists who have a permit and/or are under the age of 18 years must wear a DOT-approved helmet.
As per Minnesota state motorcycle helmet use laws, riders and passengers have to wear a helmet if they are under the age of 18 years. All operators who are riding with a learner’s permit have to wear a helmet, regardless of their age. The helmet should be approved by the DOT.
Motorcyclists with a learner’s license are not allowed to travel with passengers or interstate at night. Motorcycle operators are also required to wear eye protection. The only exception to these two laws is for people participating in parades authorized by the office or people traveling with an enclosed cab.
Minnesota motorcycle helmet laws were repealed in 1977. In Minnesota, When driving or riding a motorbike, anyone under the age of 21 should still wear a helmet certified by the US Department of Transportation. A moped rider under the age of 19 is required to wear a safety helmet.
Anyone using a motorbike over 35 mph without a windshield must wear clear goggles, eyeglasses, or a shatter-resistant face shield to protect their eyes from airborne particulates and other flying objects.
Minnesota motorcycle helmet laws are subject to change as state helmet laws across the USA are periodically revised. Click here to check for any changes to Minnesota motorcycle helmet laws, as this is the best Minnesota state government source for motorcycle helmet laws and regulations we know of.
If you know of a better online government resource for Minnesota motorcycle helmet law information, please use the “Contact Us” link at the top of the page and we’ll be happy to include your resource.
Minnesota motorcycle helmet law EXEMPTIONS
Fact: Approximately 60% of US states offer exemptions to motorcycle helmet laws that allow a rider to decline to wear a motorcycle helmet while operating or riding as a passenger on a motorcycle. Common exemptions are allowed for the age of the rider, the experience of the rider, if the rider has proof of adequate health insurance, or if the rider has taken a certified motorcycle driving safety course.
EXEMPTIONS For Age
18 or Above
EXEMPTIONS for experience