Michigan motorcycle helmet Laws
Motorcycle riders and passengers in Michigan must wear a protective helmet, particularly if they are under 21 years old. The helmet use laws of Michigan indicate that riders above 21 years old can choose not to wear a helmet after fulfilling certain conditions.
As per Michigan state motorcycle helmet usage laws, motorcycle riders need to wear helmets if they are under the age of 21 years. Riders above 21 years can choose not to wear a helmet if they have a motorcycle endorsement or security for first-party medical benefits. The first-party medical benefits should be for a minimum of $20,000.
The motorcycle endorsement should be for a minimum period of two years or the motorcyclist must have passed the state-approved motorcycle safety program. The same rules also apply to the passengers, apart from the exception of having a motorcycle endorsement or passing the approved motorcycle safety program.
Michigan motorcycle helmet laws were established in 2012. If specific circumstances are met, Michigan law now allows motorcyclists to choose whether or not to wear a helmet. To operate a motorbike without wearing a helmet, a rider must: You must be at least 21 years old to participate.
Have a minimum of $20,000 in first-party medical coverage. Have a motorcycle certification or have completed an approved motorcycle safety briefing for at least two years. Motorcycle passengers are likewise exempt from wearing a helmet under the law.
Michigan motorcycle helmet laws are subject to change as state helmet laws across the USA are periodically revised. Click here to check for any changes to Michigan motorcycle helmet laws, as this is the best Michigan state government source for motorcycle helmet laws and regulations we know of.
If you know of a better online government resource for Michigan motorcycle helmet law information, please use the “Contact Us” link at the top of the page and we’ll be happy to include your resource.
Michigan motorcycle helmet law EXEMPTIONS
Fact: Approximately 60% of US states offer exemptions to motorcycle helmet laws that allow a rider to decline to wear a motorcycle helmet while operating or riding as a passenger on a motorcycle. Common exemptions are allowed for the age of the rider, the experience of the rider, if the rider has proof of adequate health insurance, or if the rider has taken a certified motorcycle driving safety course.
EXEMPTIONS For Age
EXEMPTIONS for experience