Massachusetts motorcycle helmet Laws
The Massachusetts motorcycle helmet law states that all riders and passengers need to wear a helmet to conform to the minimum standards of the State’s Registrar of Motor Vehicles.
The helmet law in Massachusetts is considered one of the strictest in the country. As per Massachusetts motorcycle helmet use laws, both the rider and the passenger must wear a helmet, particularly if the rider is under the age of 21. The law was enacted in 1967 and the helmet needs to conform to the minimum standards of Massachusetts.
Additionally, riders cannot operate a motorcycle or permit anyone who does not have a helmet, unless they are over the age of 18 years. Additionally, the rider needs to compulsorily wear protective eye gear or goggles if the bike does not have a screen or windshield.
Massachusetts motorcycle helmet laws were established in 1967. Massachusetts has a helmet law that requires all bikers to wear a helmet. All motorcycle riders and passengers (including those travelling inside a sidecar) in Massachusetts are required to wear helmets which meet Registrar of Motor Vehicles standards.
If the motorcycle doesn’t even have a windshield, the operator should also wear eye protection such as eyeglasses, sunglasses, or a face shield. If you are found to not have been using protective headgear or eye protection, the first offence carries a $35 fine and a six- or seven-year insurance penalty. The penalties for the second infraction range from $75 to $100, with additional surcharges.
Massachusetts motorcycle helmet laws are subject to change as state helmet laws across the USA are periodically revised. Click here to check for any changes to Massachusetts motorcycle helmet laws, as this is the best Massachusetts state government source for motorcycle helmet laws and regulations we know of.
If you know of a better online government resource for Massachusetts motorcycle helmet law information, please use the “Contact Us” link at the top of the page and we’ll be happy to include your resource.
Massachusetts motorcycle helmet law EXEMPTIONS
Fact: Approximately 60% of US states offer exemptions to motorcycle helmet laws that allow a rider to decline to wear a motorcycle helmet while operating or riding as a passenger on a motorcycle. Common exemptions are allowed for the age of the rider, the experience of the rider, if the rider has proof of adequate health insurance, or if the rider has taken a certified motorcycle driving safety course.
EXEMPTIONS For Age
EXEMPTIONS for experience