Louisiana motorcycle helmet Laws
The Motorcycle helmet law of Louisiana requires both individuals on the bike to don a protective helmet. The helmet should be made specifically for motorcycle riders.
As per Louisiana state motorcycle helmet laws, the helmet should be secured to the head via a chin strap when the bike is moving. The helmet should also have a visor, lining, and padding. The motorcycle helmet should conform to the specifications lined by either the Commissioner or the Department of Public Safety and Corrections.
It is against state law for any manufacturer to manufacture and trade a helmet that does not meet the safety standards of the Louisiana state. If a rider is stopped by the police without wearing a suitable helmet, they may face a penalty of $50.
Louisiana Motorcycle helmet laws were established in 2004. It is illegal to operate or ride a motorbike without using a bike helmet with such a chin strap, according to Louisiana Revised Statutes 32:190. A legal penalty of $50 will be imposed for any infraction.
The Louisiana helmet law further stipulates that the safety helmet should be designed exclusively for motorcycle riders and include a lining, visor, and padding. Any other requirements that the commissioner may develop and publish must also be followed by the protective gear.
All helmets should have chin straps, liner, padding, and a visor, as well as any other features that the Commissioner of the Department of Motor Vehicles may mandate.
Louisiana motorcycle helmet laws are subject to change as state helmet laws across the USA are periodically revised. Click here to check for any changes to Louisiana motorcycle helmet laws, as this is the best Louisiana state government source for motorcycle helmet laws and regulations we know of.
If you know of a better online government resource for Louisiana motorcycle helmet law information, please use the “Contact Us” link at the top of the page and we’ll be happy to include your resource.
Louisiana motorcycle helmet law EXEMPTIONS
Fact: Approximately 60% of US states offer exemptions to motorcycle helmet laws that allow a rider to decline to wear a motorcycle helmet while operating or riding as a passenger on a motorcycle. Common exemptions are allowed for the age of the rider, the experience of the rider, if the rider has proof of adequate health insurance, or if the rider has taken a certified motorcycle driving safety course.
EXEMPTIONS For Age
EXEMPTIONS for experience