Indiana motorcycle helmet Laws
The Indiana motorcycle helmet use laws require persons aged 17 or younger to wear a helmet while operating a motorcycle. All low-power cycles are covered by this rule.
Indiana motorcycle helmet laws require a person below 18 years of age to wear a helmet. The law can be found at the motor vehicle code § 9-19-7-1. Protective gear like helmets and eye protection are important requirements for riders in the state who are under 18 years of age. Eye protection that is recommended for riders includes goggles, face shield, and glasses.
Individuals with a learner’s permit for motorcycle riding should also wear a helmet. The helmet should meet the Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) 218. Indiana state repealed the universal helmet law in 1977 as per the Governors Highway Safety Association information.
According to the Indian Motorcycle Helmet Laws, riders under the age of 18 are required to wear a helmet and safety glasses, goggles, or clear face shields in Indiana. In 1977, the state’s universal helmet law was removed. Only motorcycle operators and passengers under the age of 18 or those with a learner’s permit are required to wear a helmet in the state today.
Indiana’s laws are a little more stringent. All riders and passengers over the age of 18 must wear protective glasses, goggles, or a transparent face shield, but helmets are not needed. Violations of this law are classified as a class C violation, punishable by a fine of up to $500.
Indiana motorcycle helmet laws are subject to change as state helmet laws across the USA are periodically revised. Click here to check for any changes to Indiana motorcycle helmet laws, as this is the best Indiana state government source for motorcycle helmet laws and regulations we know of.
If you know of a better online government resource for Indiana motorcycle helmet law information, please use the “Contact Us” link at the top of the page and we’ll be happy to include your resource.
Indiana motorcycle helmet law EXEMPTIONS
Fact: Approximately 60% of US states offer exemptions to motorcycle helmet laws that allow a rider to decline to wear a motorcycle helmet while operating or riding as a passenger on a motorcycle. Common exemptions are allowed for the age of the rider, the experience of the rider, if the rider has proof of adequate health insurance, or if the rider has taken a certified motorcycle driving safety course.
EXEMPTIONS For Age
18 or Above
EXEMPTIONS for experience