Idaho motorcycle helmet Laws
Idaho motorcycle helmet law requires all riders below 18 years of age to wear head safety gear like a helmet. The state is not among the 19 states that follow the universal helmet rule.
A protective motorcycle helmet is required by all riders below 18 years using a motorbike, off-the-road bikes, and an ATV. Bicycle riders do not require a helmet, but low-power mopeds come under the motorcycle helmet law. The helmet used should be of a quality and type that complies with the standards established by the transport division of the government.
However, there are certain exceptions to this rule. Riders operating the motorcycles on private property or when the vehicle is used for implementing husbandry are excluded from the general rule. Low-power cycles that have 50cc engine displacement higher than 50 cc and break horsepower more than 5, or are able to accelerate over 30mph come under the motorcycle helmet law.
Idaho motorcycle helmets laws require to wear a helmet that meets or exceeds the Director of Motor Vehicles’ helmet regulations. Whenever motorbikes are handled or ridden on private property, or when they are being used as a tool for husbandry, the helmet need does not applicable. Before riding a motorbike in Idaho, check with the Director to make sure your helmet fulfils these requirements.
Idaho motorcycle helmet laws are subject to change as state helmet laws across the USA are periodically revised. Click here to check for any changes to Idaho motorcycle helmet laws, as this is the best Idaho state government source for motorcycle helmet laws and regulations we know of.
If you know of a better online government resource for Idaho motorcycle helmet law information, please use the “Contact Us” link at the top of the page and we’ll be happy to include your resource.
Idaho motorcycle helmet law EXEMPTIONS
Fact: Approximately 60% of US states offer exemptions to motorcycle helmet laws that allow a rider to decline to wear a motorcycle helmet while operating or riding as a passenger on a motorcycle. Common exemptions are allowed for the age of the rider, the experience of the rider, if the rider has proof of adequate health insurance, or if the rider has taken a certified motorcycle driving safety course.
EXEMPTIONS For Age
18 or Above
EXEMPTIONS for experience