Florida motorcycle helmet Laws
According to Florida helmet laws, riders aged 20 years and younger are required to wear helmets while operating or riding on a motorcycle.
As per the Florida Statutes 2021, all motorcycle and low-power cycles (mopeds) should wear protective headgear that is fastened securely upon the rider’s head. The helmet should comply with the Federal Motorcycle Vehicle Safety Standard 218 established by the Department of Transportation.
For low-power cycles, the conditions that necessitate the use of motorcycle helmets include using a cycle with more than 50cc engine displacement, and more than 2 brake horsepower. Low-power cycles that have more than 30mph speed capacity also come under the Florida motorcycle helmet law.
Florida Motorcycle Helmet laws were established on July 1, 2000. Only riders under the age of 21 and those above the age of 21 that do not have at least $10,000 in medical insurance are required to wear helmets under state law.
Riders above the age of 21 are not required to wear a helmet while driving a motorbike in Florida, but unless they fulfil certain insurance requirements. This legislation was made in the year 2000, and it was met with a lot of opposition.
Florida motorcycle helmet laws are subject to change as state helmet laws across the USA are periodically revised. Click here to check for any changes to Florida motorcycle helmet laws, as this is the best Florida state government source for motorcycle helmet laws and regulations we know of.
If you know of a better online government resource for Florida motorcycle helmet law information, please use the “Contact Us” link at the top of the page and we’ll be happy to include your resource.
Florida motorcycle helmet law EXEMPTIONS
Fact: Approximately 60% of US states offer exemptions to motorcycle helmet laws that allow a rider to decline to wear a motorcycle helmet while operating or riding as a passenger on a motorcycle. Common exemptions are allowed for the age of the rider, the experience of the rider, if the rider has proof of adequate health insurance, or if the rider has taken a certified motorcycle driving safety course.
EXEMPTIONS For Age
21 or Above
EXEMPTIONS for experience