Delaware motorcycle helmet Laws
Delaware’s motorcycle helmet usage laws specify that every person below 19 years riding on or operating a motorcycle must wear a Secretary-approved helmet. All riders must possess a helmet.
The Motorcycle Operator Manual of the state of Delaware informs riders about the Delaware motorcycle helmet laws. It states that all motorcyclists below 19 years of age must wear eye protection and a safety helmet approved by the secretary (Secretary of Safety and Homeland Security) through the Office of Highway Safety.
And, riders above 19 years of age must possess eye protection and a helmet while riding. This includes both operators and passengers. The helmet should be properly fastened with chin straps. The guide asserts that a DOT-compliant helmet increases the chances of riders avoiding serious head and neck injuries in a crash, which account for one in every five motorcycle crashes.
Delaware Motorcycle helmet laws were established in 1978. Everyone under the age of 19 should wear a secretary-approved safety helmet and safety glasses. While riding, any motorcyclist above the age of 19 should wear a helmet and wear eye protection.
Because restrictions sometimes change, it’s best to double-check with the Secretary of State’s office while operating a motorcycle in Delaware.
Delaware motorcycle helmet laws are subject to change as state helmet laws across the USA are periodically revised. Click here to check for any changes to Delaware motorcycle helmet laws, as this is the best Delaware state government source for motorcycle helmet laws and regulations we know of.
If you know of a better online government resource for Delaware motorcycle helmet law information, please use the “Contact Us” link at the top of the page and we’ll be happy to include your resource.
Delaware motorcycle helmet law EXEMPTIONS
Fact: Approximately 60% of US states offer exemptions to motorcycle helmet laws that allow a rider to decline to wear a motorcycle helmet while operating or riding as a passenger on a motorcycle. Common exemptions are allowed for the age of the rider, the experience of the rider, if the rider has proof of adequate health insurance, or if the rider has taken a certified motorcycle driving safety course.
EXEMPTIONS For Age
19 or Above
EXEMPTIONS for experience