Connecticut motorcycle helmet Laws
Connecticut’s current motorcycle helmet usage laws require all motorcycle operators and passengers who are under 18 years of age to wear a helmet at all times.
The state of Connecticut’s Motorcycle Operator Manual summarizes the Connecticut motorcycle helmet laws. This guide states that no person under 18 years of age, including operators and passengers, should ride a motorcycle without wearing protective headgear. There is a fine of $90 for riders below 18 years of age who are caught without a helmet.
The helmet should be compliant with the U.S. DOT (Department of Transportation). The manual also informs us that as per research, neck and head injuries are reduced when riders properly wear quality helmets. Moreover, the helmet should be securely fastened while riding a motorcycle; otherwise, it will fly off the head during a crash.
Connecticut once had motorcycle helmet laws, but it was repealed in 1976. In Connecticut, it is illegal for anyone under 18 to start operating or ride a motorcycle without wearing helmets. If you are cited without such a helmet, you will be fined $90.
The Commissioner of Motor Vehicles must adopt helmet restrictions. Motorcyclists and passengers must verify with the Commissioner while driving on Connecticut roads as these guidelines are prone to revision.
Connecticut motorcycle helmet laws are subject to change as state helmet laws across the USA are periodically revised. Click here to check for any changes to Connecticut motorcycle helmet laws, as this is the best Connecticut state government source for motorcycle helmet laws and regulations we know of.
If you know of a better online government resource for Connecticut motorcycle helmet law information, please use the “Contact Us” link at the top of the page and we’ll be happy to include your resource.
Connecticut motorcycle helmet law EXEMPTIONS
Fact: Approximately 60% of US states offer exemptions to motorcycle helmet laws that allow a rider to decline to wear a motorcycle helmet while operating or riding as a passenger on a motorcycle. Common exemptions are allowed for the age of the rider, the experience of the rider, if the rider has proof of adequate health insurance, or if the rider has taken a certified motorcycle driving safety course.
EXEMPTIONS For Age
18 or Above
EXEMPTIONS for experience