Colorado motorcycle helmet Laws
The Colorado state motorcycle helmet usage law declares that riders below 18 years must wear DOT-approved helmets. This includes both drivers as well as passengers.
As per the Colorado state motorcycle law, riders above 17 years old are not required to wear helmets. Those below the age of 18 years must wear protective helmets approved by the U.S. DOT (Department of Transportation), including both operators and passengers. The helmets must have a chin strap, padding, and lining so that they can minimize injury from a head collision.
And, the rider must wear it every time while riding the motorcycle. All riders must also wear eye protection, such as goggles and eyeglasses with plastic or safety glass lenses, when riding on public highways in Colorado if their helmet does not come with eye protection.
Colorado motorcycle helmet laws were established in 1973.In Colorado, if you are 18 years old or older, you are not supposed to wear a helmet. If you or your passengers are under the age of 18, you should wear a safety helmet. The helmet must meet the Department of Transportation’s (DOT) requirements.
It’s critical to obey motorcycle rules in order to ride safely and legally in every state in the United States. There are various state-specific laws to be aware of if you’re driving in Colorado. Because these regulations and parameters were prone to revision, it’s a good idea to double-check with the Division while riding a motorcycle on Colorado roads.
Colorado motorcycle helmet laws are subject to change as state helmet laws across the USA are periodically revised. Click here to check for any changes to Colorado motorcycle helmet laws, as this is the best Colorado state government source for motorcycle helmet laws and regulations we know of.
If you know of a better online government resource for Colorado motorcycle helmet law information, please use the “Contact Us” link at the top of the page and we’ll be happy to include your resource.
Colorado motorcycle helmet law EXEMPTIONS
Fact: Approximately 60% of US states offer exemptions to motorcycle helmet laws that allow a rider to decline to wear a motorcycle helmet while operating or riding as a passenger on a motorcycle. Common exemptions are allowed for the age of the rider, the experience of the rider, if the rider has proof of adequate health insurance, or if the rider has taken a certified motorcycle driving safety course.